Racking My Brain

May 20, 2012

Clematis from my former front yard.

I’ve been racking my brain all week trying to come up with a topic for The Once A Week Page and here it is, the end of the week, and I have nothing. So what am I going to do? I’m going to cheat.

Instead of giving you a helpful suggestion for something you can do to live a more sustainable life I’m going to post photos I’ve taken. Some are of my work, some from my own garden, and some from a recent trip. Since these are all photos I’ve taken myself I ask that you let me know if you use them for more than just personal use. Thank you.

Containers for a condo building in Brooklyn

This is a blow hole along the coast in Kauai. Amazing to witness.

Client backyard. I did the design and my crew and I installed new plants, the stonework and pergola. I trained two neglected grape vines to grow up the pergola .   As part of the second stage an alternative turf lawn of Herniaria glabra will be installed where the mulch currently is.

This is simply a close up of the patio highlighting the natural colors of the stone and the pattern I designed.

Close up of a Brooklyn front yard I designed and installed where I mixed ornamentals and edibles. In with the Marigolds, Salvias, Alyssum and Lillies are Sage, Thyme, Summer Savory and, earlier in the year some colorful greens. Out of view is a tangle of Clematis jackmanii and Scarlett Runner Beans.

I took this at the Na’ Aina Kai Botanical Gardens in Kauai, Hawaii. I love the texture of the leaf and the way the leaf comes together in the middle.

Many people plant the large bulb Fritillaria imperialis but there is another group of Fritillaria, the dwarf group. This is a photo of Fritillaria michailovsky ‘Multiflora’ from my own garden. It is not the best photograph but I wanted to include it just to let people know these bulbs exist. There Brent and Becky’s is a good source for them and others of the small Fritillaria category.

Euphorbia and Artichoke planted together. Just one more way to try to include edibles in my flower beds.

This is a drystack stone wall we did for a client using only bluestone we found buried in the backyard.

So as to not bore you I am going to limit my posting of photos. But I did have fun sharing my photo adventures so perhaps I’ll do this again in the future.

5 Responses to “Racking My Brain”


  1. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

  2. Nicole Brait Says:

    Thank you, Shannon. I look forward to sharing more.

  3. Shannon Says:

    Love this! Thanks for sharing. I look forward to more…

  4. PJ Girl Says:

    What a lovely mixture of photographs… I agree that the leaf from Hawaii is beautiful and looks as if it’s been stitched. I also love the bluestone wall!


Leave a Reply

