in.gredients The First Package Free Zero Waste Grocery Store in US

March 4, 2012

A colorful display of fresh fruits

My aunt told me an amusing story once. She and my uncle were living in London about 35 years ago and the first time she went to the grocery store she took her cart to the cashier, checked out and looked for bags to load her groceries into. There were none. She wound up making several trips to the car.

At the time I thought it wouldn’t be a bad idea of we did that here in the U.S. Now many of us do but there is a new grocery store opening up in Austin called in.gredients that is taking things one step further. In.gredients is opening a package free zero waste store.

What does that mean exactly? It means a few things. One, you bring your own containers to fill with food. Many products such as grains, spices, oil, vinegar – even wine and beer (some locally produced) will be offered in bulk. You buy as much as you want, label your container and pay. Easy.

The store will also source food and other products locally whenever possible thus reducing the amount of energy used to transport food over long distances. And the store will not carry processed foods.

You can follow their progress toward opening day on their web site at this link.

8 Responses to “in.gredients The First Package Free Zero Waste Grocery Store in US”

  1. Shannon Says:

    Reblogged this on dirt n kids and commented:
    “There’s no waste in nature. Waste is a human invention.” ~ In.gredients
    http://in.gredients.com/ethos/
    Thanks, Nicole, for spreading the word. I will be keeping my eye on this company and checking to see how the start-up goes! Too bad I’m so far from the Austin, TX area.

  2. Shannon Says:

    Awesome post! I’ll certainly have to check these guys out. I’ve always wondered about bulk buying and bringing your own containers. I wonder how health codes will be handled.

    • Nicole Brait Says:

      I read somewhere that there will be people at the store to talk to customers about the proper way to clean containers, etc., but I can’t remember where.

      • Shannon Says:

        If there’s anything that’ll bring it down, it’ll be the health code, I’m certain. I’m hoping those details can and will be worked out. We’re humans. We can do anything, right? Such a great — and needed — idea!

  3. Jean-François Says:

    Reblogged this on Web 4.0: R U Ready? and commented:
    Hope this catches on, and finds it’s way to LA.

    • Nicole Brait Says:

      I feel so lucky it’s happening where I live. It’s two brothers who are starting the store and I really hope it is successful.
      And thanks for the reblog.

      • Jean-François Says:

        Hopefully the response will encourage them to grow, and move west.

        Actually, it was only an attempted reblog; it ended up on the wrong blog, the system won’t let me redo the operation.

      • Nicole Brait Says:

        I hope so. It would be great to see these kinds of stores everywhere. And I think there is a demand for it.

        As for the reblog thanks for the effort. I really appreciate it.


Leave a Reply

