How To Eat Green

February 17, 2012

English: Tomatoes at a market.

Image via Wikipedia

This has become such a complicated issue sometimes when I’m in the grocery store I feel like I need a PhD in sustainable eating just to shop. So I did some research and found a few articles that will help us all navigate the aisles the next time we’re in the store buying groceries.

First of all I want to explain what I mean by “green.” I mean food, or other goods, that were grown or produced with the least impact on the environment. So, not just organically but also locally and using fair labor.

In this New York Times article by Elisabeth Rosenthal she explains that much of the produce in the supermarket labeled organic comes from over a thousand miles away and is grown with intensive irrigation – not so green. There is also an excellent short slide show by Marcus Yam that sums up the situation

At GoGreen Kim S. offers up information about how “green” your food is that will help making choices at the grocery store easier. Kim also recommends Local HarvestEat Well Guide, and FoodRoutes as places where you can find locally and sustainably produced food in your area.

At TreeHugger Jess Root writes about how eating green is not just good for the planet but also good for your body and your waistline. Read Seven Ways to Eat Green. (There is a photo with the article taken by Marina Avila of a hamster eating a grape. It just cracks me up every time I look at it!)

There is also a link on Jess’s page for a recipe for grilled avocados. I usually eat avocados mixed with fig balsamic vinegar and a bit of sea salt but this sounded so good I am definitely going to try it.

One Response to “How To Eat Green”

  1. Shannon Says:

    I just popped over from 222milliontons. I have to say I’m loving your blog.

    We are also spreading the word on local veggies (a/k/a going to the farm with your family). There’s a good reason why my family is all healthy and fit and never sick — we eat plants. Buying from local organic farmers is great the economy, the planet, and for the self. Great for the budget too. Keep spreading the word and hopefully good news will catch.

    http://dirtnkids.wordpress.com/2012/02/19/get-local/


Leave a Reply

